MAPS 6-12 Teacher of the Year

Our MAPS 6-12 Teacher of The Year for 2023-2024 is Dr. Matthew Ludwig, a Band Teacher at Marquette Senior High School. His nominators wrote, “Dr. Ludwig has worked as the Band Director at MSHS his entire career and has established a premier program in band.  He is able to get the most out of his students’ talents and makes them better musicians.  He conducts an incredible marching band that has entertained football fans and parade goers alike with creative songs and formations.  His drumline is a must see.  It is loud and energetic and you can see the excitement it creates whether marching through the halls of MSHS or leading the band out to the football stadium.  One of the highlights of the year is when his jazz band – a collection of volunteers who, along with Dr. Ludwig, dedicate early mornings to practicing – performs for the school in the library.  This is in addition to the regular concerts performed at Kaufman Auditorium that delight audiences with their talents.  As one of his students states: ‘Dr. Ludwig is easy to approach and makes all of his students feel included in his class.  He keeps the right balance of fun and seriousness in class so we can get things done but have a relaxed environment we can joke around in, which leads to memorable moments in class.  He motivates, he’s positive and makes music fun.’”


6-12 Teacher of the Year:
2022-23 Steven Solinski (Marquette Senior High School)
2021-22 Justin Burton (Bothwell Middle School)
2020-21 Tom Seeke (Marquette Senior High School)
2018-19 Scot Stewart (Bothwell Middle School)

Teacher of the Year:
2017-18 Lesley Addison (Bothwell Middle School)

2016-17 Patti Karwoski (Superior Hills Elementary)
2015-16 Erin Donovan (Superior Hills Elementary)
2014-15 Sara Moyle (Bothwell Middle School)
2013-14 Matthew Brintlinger (Marquette Alternative High School)
2012-13 Kristina O'Connor & Blythe Raikko (Marquette Senior High School)
2011-12 Cynthia DePetro (Marquette Alternative High School)
2010-11 Karla McCutcheon (Marquette Senior High School)
2009-10 Cheryl Emich-Leete (Sandy Knoll Elementary)
2008-09 Lisa Jahnke (Marquette Senior High School)
2007-08 Toni Landick (Bothwell Middle School)
2006-07 Mary Stevenson (Marquette Senior High School)
2005-06 Carolyn Northey (Bothwell Middle School)
2004-05 Fred Cole (Marquette Senior High School)
2003-04 Christopher Standerford (Marquette Senior High School)
2002-03 Marianne Evans (Graveraet Intermediate School) & Karen Bacula (Bothwell Middle School)
2001-02 Marsha Page (Vandenboom Elementary School)
2000-01 Ellen Zaki (Marquette Senior High School)
1999-00 Janis Shier Norton (Marquette Senior High School & Bothwell Middle School)
1997-98 Cheryl Gustafson (Bothwell Middle School)
1996-97 Iris Katers (Graveraet Intermediate School)
1995-96 Sue Szczepanski (Whitman Elementary)
1994-95 Sharon Green (Graveraet Intermediate School)
1993-94 Mary McKinney (Bothwell Middle School)
1992-93 Bev Humpula (Bothwell Middle School)
1991-92 Jill Nelson (Fisher Elementary)
1990-91 Jim Brogan (Marquette Senior High School)
1989-90 Ruth Murphy (Fisher Elementary)